Home  --  About the Event  --  Contact Us  --  Host Committee  --  Fran├žais   
News & Photos

Ticket Information
Guarantee the same great seat for the entire 2010 Ford World Women's Curling Championship and enjoy benefits that include admission to the Labatt Patch.

Germany wins!

SWIFT CURRENT, March 28, 2010

Germany's 45-year-old Andrea Schoepp of Garmisch-Partenkirchen became the oldest skip in history the win the Ford World women's championship on Sunday afternoon, defeating 19-year-old Eve Muirhead and her Scottish crew from Dunkeld by a 8-6 count in the final.

The German team of third Melanie Robillard, second Monika Wagner and lead Stella Heiss won the Ford Worlds Trophy. It was the second world title for Schoepp and Wagner who were together on a team that won in 1988 at Glasgow, Scotland.

The pair also played the back end on a team that won a gold medal at the Albertville Olympic Games in 1992 when curling was a demonstration sport.
Schoepp twice defeated Scotland during the 12-team championship.

Canada's Jennifer Jones of Winnipeg won the bronze medal earlier in the day with a 9-6 victory over Cecilia Ostlund of Karlstad, Sweden.

Copyright © 2008 Canadian Curling Association. All rights reserved.
Sponsorship Opportunities: klarsen@curling.ca  |  Media Inquiries: rdewhirst@curling.ca
Terms of Use and Privacy  |  Contact Us