Home  --  About the Event  --  Contact Us  --  Host Committee   
News & Photos

Ticket Information
Guarantee the same great seat for the entire 2009 Tim Hortons Brier and enjoy benefits that include admission to the Labatt Patch and Purple Heart Lounge.

2009 All-Star Teams and Award Winners Announced

CALGARY, March 15, 2009...Members of the Canadian Curling Reporters (CCR) selected the first and second all-star teams for the 2009 Tim Hortons Brier.

The results were announced at the Brier Closing Brunch by the Calgary Herald's Allen Cameron, CCR First Vice-President, while CCR President Jim Henderson of SWEEP Magazine and Fran Todd, Chair of the Board of Governors of the Canadian Curling Association, made the presentations.

First Team All-Stars

SKIP Kevin Martin, Alberta
THIRD Richard Hart, Ontario
SECOND Marc Kennedy, Alberta
LEAD Ben Hebert, Alberta 

Second Team All-Stars

SKIP Glenn Howard, Ontario
THIRD John Morris, Alberta
SECOND Éric Sylvain, Quebec
LEAD Steve Gould, Manitoba


Ross Harstone Award

The Ross Harstone Trophy is presented each year to the player chosen by his peers as the curler in the Tim Hortons Brier who best represents Ross G.L. Harstone's high ideals of good sportsmanship, observance of the rules, exemplary conduct and curling ability.

Fran Todd, Chair of the Board of Governors of the CCA, presented the Ross Harstone Award to Saskatchewan lead Dean Hicke.




Scotty Harper Award – Media Award ($500)

For the best curling story of 2008, as selected by the School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University, the Award is in memory of the late Scotty Harper of the Winnipeg Free Press, whose curling reports enlivened that journal for many years.

The award had not been presented for a number of years but with the help of the CCA, the award was re-introduced in 2005 and won by Paul Wiecek of the Winnipeg Free Press.   In 2006, the winner was Allen Cameron of the Calgary Herald.  For the last two years, SWEEP Magazine's Jim Henderson has won the award.

This year's winner is Guy Scholz of SWEEP Magazine, for his story entitled, "And the Oscar goes to Don Walchuk... Best Supporting Curler."

The presentation was made by CCR President Jim Henderson, Sales/Marketing Director for SWEEP.

Paul McLean Award
(named in honour of the highly-respected TSN Producer of curling, football, world juniors hockey, etc., who died of cancer, at the age of 39, in December of 2005)

The Award was presented for the first time in 2007 by the CCR and TSN to a media person 'behind the scenes' who has made a significant contribution to the sport of curling.  The inaugural recipient was Richard Wells, TSN Director (Hockey, Baseball and Curling).   Last year's winner was Denis Lavoie, Associate Director for CBC-TV Sports.

This year's recipient is Jeff Timson, Coordinator, Media, Canadian Curling Association, who was presented with the Paul McLean Award by TSN's curling producer, Scott Higgins.

Copyright © 2008 Canadian Curling Association. All rights reserved.
Sponsorship Opportunities: jogston@curling.ca  |  Media Inquiries: rdewhirst@curling.ca
Terms of Use and Privacy  |  Contact Us